Swapping Cards

Earlier today I searched through the ACM-ICPC archive of problems that have been used in ACM-ICPC Regionals and World Finals, looking for some interesting problems to solve. I found one that reminded me of another ACM-ICPC problem that I solved. You can read the full description of it, but I’ll put it in a nutshell:

You’re given a stack of playing cards. You can swap adjacent cards. You want to find the minimum number of swaps it takes to sort the cards so that all the diamonds and hearts in the stack appear before all the spades and clubs.

I realized that you are searching for a certain state of the stack of cards. Because you want to find that state in the minimum number of swaps, you can perform a version of breadth-first search to solve the problem.

I remembered the Marbles in Three Baskets problem, another ACM-ICPC problem that I solved. I applied the same basic technique and philosophy of problem-solving to this problem that I outline in the post about the Marbles in Three Baskets problem.

You can find my solution to this problem at my GitHub.

Leave a Reply

